Islands in Cohesion Policy

The Intergroup organised on March 10, 2016 a meeting which was dedicated dedicated to the treatment of insularity within Cohesion Policy and how the specific characteristics of islands have been taken into account in terms of the 2014 – 2020 operational programmes (in line with Article 174 TFEU).

It brought together Mrs Michela Giuffrida, Mr Tonino Picula, Mrs Sofia Ribeiro, Mr Alfred Sant, Mr. Juan Fernando Lopez Aguilar, Mrs. Roberta Metsola, Mrs. Claudia Monteiro de Aguiar, Mr. Louis Joseph Manscour, Mr. Renato Soru, Mr. Demetris Papadakis, Mr. Mitliadis Kyrkos, Mr. Salvatore Cicu Members of the Intergroup, and representative of Island Authorities.

This meeting was held in Strasbourg from 10.00 to 12.00 in Room Louise Weiss (S3.5).

The members of the Intergroup highlighted the specific challenges of their own islands while stressing the need for the diverse islands of Europe to fight side by side. They highlighted the need to reinforce the territorial dimension of cohesion policy, including with regards to island territories that are classed below the NUTS II level.

The minutes of the meeting are available in the documents of the meeting.

Event Properties

Event Date 10-03-2016 10:00
Event End Date 10-03-2016 12:00
Deadline to register 03-03-2016
European Parliament Strasbourg
European Parliament, Allée du Printemps, 67000 Strasbourg, France
European Parliament Strasbourg
Categories Conférence 2015-2019
Attachment 160310 Agenda.pdf
We are no longer accepting registration for this event

What is an Intergroup?

The Seas, Rivers, Islands and Coastal Areas Intergroup is one of the 27 Intergroups that were approved on 11 December 2019 by the Conference of Presidents for the 9th legislature of the European Parliament. Intergroups can be formed by MEPs from any political group and any parliamentary committee with a view to holding informal exchanges of views on particular issues and promoting contact between MEPs and civil society.

The Seas, Rivers, Islands and Coastal Areas Intergroup brings together more than 100 MEPs from 7 different political groups and 23 Member States.

Intergroups are not Parliament bodies and therefore may not express Parliament's opinion.

Intergroups are subject to internal rules adopted by the Conference of Presidents on 16 December 1999 (last updated on 11 September 2014), which set out the conditions under which intergroups may be established at the beginning of each parliamentary term and their operating rules.

Related News

  • EU4Ocean Coalition for Ocean Literacy 02-04-2021

    Read More ...

  • Blue Economy Window 2020 Info Day – 24 November 2020 (14.00 – 18.30 CET) 23-11-2020

    Read More ...

  • Final Conference of the EU-funded project “Upskilling Shipbuilding Workforce in Europe” - 26 November 18-11-2020

    Read More ...

  • Ocean Hackathon 2020 - Call for Challenges 30-06-2020

    Read More ...

With the support of the CPMR, Intergroup Secretariat