I come from Saint-Brieuc in Brittany, the ultimate maritime Region. The sea is part of my identity. I am also passionate in each and every sport and a sailor and recreational fisherman as well.

In Brittany, I’ve spent eight years as 1st Deputy to the Mayor of Saint-Brieuc and in March 2015 was elected President of the “Conseil départemental” of Côtes d’Armor. I am a Member of the UMP party and define myself as a social Gaullist.

I have been a Member of the European Parliament since 2009, I am a Member of the Committee on Fisheries and its Chair since July 2014. In particular, I have been Rapporteur for the European Maritime and Fisheries Fund (EMFF) and for the European Strategy for the Atlantic.

In the Intergroup I am the Vice Chair for the Atlantic. I am committed to promoting sustainable blue growth as it is a great driver of jobs and a source of competitiveness for the future of Europe. I believe Europe of this 21st century has to look to the sea and its depths.

Conference "How to better protect Atlantic Coastal Regions from Maritime Pollution"

Conference "Seas in Motion - Activating the Atlantic Action Plan"

Conference "Motorways of the Sea: The condition for success"

Related News

What is an Intergroup?

The Seas, Rivers, Islands and Coastal Areas Intergroup is one of the 28 Intergroups that were approved on 11 December 2014 by the Conference of Presidents. Intergroups can be formed by MEPs from any political group and any parliamentary committee with a view to holding informal exchanges of views on particular issues and to promoting contact between MEPs and civil society.

The Seas, Rivers, Islands and Coastal Areas Intergroup brings together more than 80 MEPs from six different political groups and from 19 Member States.

Intergroups are not Parliament bodies and therefore may not express Parliament's opinion.

Intergroups are subject to internal rules adopted by the Conference of Presidents on 16 December 1999 (last updated on 11 September 2014), which set out the conditions under which intergroups may be established at the beginning of each parliamentary term and their operating rules.