Ocean Dialogues 2019 - Supporting Effictive Ocean Governance

The #OceanDialogues2019 is a joint event between the European Projects MARINA and ResponSEAble on the role of Ocean Literacy and Responsible Research and Innovation in supporting effective Ocean Governance.

By working at the interface between society, policy ad science, the event will address challenges such as engagement, co-creation and shared responsability.


Countries, businesses and society are giving increasing attention to the economic, social and environmental dimensions of ocean matters, including in relation to climate change. The sustainable management of the ocean raises many issues, including in terms of ocean governance - an area where the European Union (EU) with a well-developed marine & maritime policy framework is playing a leading role.

Effective ocean governance requires that adequate knowledge is produced, shared and used, and that the research and innovation agenda become responsive to the society needs, thus contributing to the sustainable management of the ocean. In particular, Responsible Research and Innovation (RRI) and effective Ocean Literacy (OL) are seen as essential to effective ocean governance, ensuring the sea matters to all.

More information here.

Related News

What is an Intergroup?

The Seas, Rivers, Islands and Coastal Areas Intergroup is one of the 28 Intergroups that were approved on 11 December 2014 by the Conference of Presidents. Intergroups can be formed by MEPs from any political group and any parliamentary committee with a view to holding informal exchanges of views on particular issues and to promoting contact between MEPs and civil society.

The Seas, Rivers, Islands and Coastal Areas Intergroup brings together more than 80 MEPs from six different political groups and from 19 Member States.

Intergroups are not Parliament bodies and therefore may not express Parliament's opinion.

Intergroups are subject to internal rules adopted by the Conference of Presidents on 16 December 1999 (last updated on 11 September 2014), which set out the conditions under which intergroups may be established at the beginning of each parliamentary term and their operating rules.