Have your say on the Healthy Oceans, Seas, Coastal and Inland Waters Mission

Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Norway, Poland and Sweden have recently launched a joint initiative to support the work of the Mission Board in identifying targets for the Horizon Europe Mission area Healthy Oceans, Seas, Coastal and Inland Waters.

The six countries have produced a citizen survey, in the respective national languages, asking respondents to describe the role and importance of the sea and waters in their life. This survey comes ahead of a series of citizen engagement events planned for the summer. The outcomes will feed into the work of the Mission Board, led by Pascal Lamy, who are preparing their final advice, to be presented later this year at the European Research and Innovation Days, 22-24 September.

Do you live in one of these countries? Take part in the survey here


Related News

  • EU4Ocean Coalition for Ocean Literacy 02-04-2021

    Read More ...

  • Blue Economy Window 2020 Info Day – 24 November 2020 (14.00 – 18.30 CET) 23-11-2020

    Read More ...

  • Final Conference of the EU-funded project “Upskilling Shipbuilding Workforce in Europe” - 26 November 18-11-2020

    Read More ...

  • Ocean Hackathon 2020 - Call for Challenges 30-06-2020

    Read More ...

What is an Intergroup?

The Seas, Rivers, Islands and Coastal Areas Intergroup is one of the 27 Intergroups that were approved on 11 December 2019 by the Conference of Presidents for the 9th legislature of the European Parliament. Intergroups can be formed by MEPs from any political group and any parliamentary committee with a view to holding informal exchanges of views on particular issues and promoting contact between MEPs and civil society.

The Seas, Rivers, Islands and Coastal Areas Intergroup brings together more than 100 MEPs from 7 different political groups and 23 Member States.

Intergroups are not Parliament bodies and therefore may not express Parliament's opinion.

Intergroups are subject to internal rules adopted by the Conference of Presidents on 16 December 1999 (last updated on 11 September 2014), which set out the conditions under which intergroups may be established at the beginning of each parliamentary term and their operating rules.